Gluten, what's that?

Gluten, what's that?

The term derives from the Latin word "glutinis," which means glue. Gluten is a protein found in 4 cereals: wheat (and its derivatives: spelt, kamut wheat...), rye, barley, and oats. This protein is found in the cereal grain's albumen, a nutritive reserve that lies beneath the skin of the seed. This protein is divided into two parts: gliadin and glutenin:

- Glutenin provides, for example, the consistency and elasticity in bread dough.

- Gliadin allows bread to rise during cooking.

The use and the industrialization of cereals have led to modifying seeds to make the most of the virtues of gluten in order to maximize use. Today, gluten is found in many products, such as bread, cookies, beer, sauces, and all kinds of pre-prepared meals.

There are two problems linked to gluten today: intolerance and hypersensitivity.

Intolerance is called celiac disease. It is permanent intolerance to one or more fractions of gluten (gliadin, glutenin). It causes the destruction of the villi of the small intestine which serve to facilitate the transfer of nutrients into the blood. Poor absorption of these nutrients (iron, calcium ...) causes digestion problems such as bloating, diarrhea, nausea, and even skin reactions. In the long run it can lead to serious deficiencies. The data is still somewhat unclear, but celiac disease affects approximately 0.5% to 1% of the population.

Food hypersensitivity is the result of a response by the immune system that can cause reactions for more or less brief periods of time: itching, swelling (face, lips, throat ...), headaches, autoimmune problems, pollen or other allergies, joint pain, and other problems. The overabundance of gluten in our food may have led to an increase the number of hypersensitive people. It should be noted that oats and ancestral cereals (kamut wheat and small spelt) seem to generate less reactions.

Baouw! Organic Nutrition bars are made with raw, unrefined ingredients. No cereals, no oats, no fructose syrup, no potato starch or inverted-sugar syrup. The sugar in our bars derives almost entirely from fruit and exclusively from the fruits in three of our recipes. As it should now be clear, Baouw! Organic Nutrition products do not contain gluten but may, however, contain traces of gluten. This means that when we mix the ingredients, there may be some cereal residues. People with food hypersensitivity will not be affected, unlike those with celiac-disease.


All news